West of West®
An Architecture & Design Studio

Info

 

Design a world that matters.

 
 
 

We take the time to understand the worlds we create for, then chart new paths forward to design better human experiences.

Our belief is that great architecture starts with understanding the people who experience it. From creative workspaces to bespoke retail to hospitality, we've helped partners across industries solve problems, create spaces that matter, and drive culture forward.

 

West of West was founded by Jai Kumaran and Clayton Taylor, AIA. The studio strives to push boundaries and has a long-standing obsession with light, form, materiality, and craft. Each project is an opportunity to create compelling spaces and shape new experiences. 

The studio operates in Portland, OR and Los Angeles, CA. 

 
 

We’re a studio of designers and thinkers reshaping how people interact with the world around them. We are challenging ideas, starting conversations, and pushing architecture with fresh perspective.

 
 

Team

 
Read more >

Read more >

Clayton Taylor

Principal
Architect, NCARB, AIA
clayton@westofwest.com

Read more > 

Read more >

Read more >

Jai Kumaran

Principal
Associate AIA
jai@westofwest.com

Read more > 

JC-CONTRAST.gif

Justin Cua

Architect
Studio Director
justin@westofwest.com

KO.gif

Keely O’Brien

Interior Designer
keely@westofwest.com


 

 
BH.jpg

Brandon Hansen

Project Designer
brandon@westofwest.com

EL.jpg

Erik Larson

Project Designer
erik@westofwest.com

AM.jpg

Addison Mullins

Project Designer
addison@westofwest.com

JY.jpg

Jared Younger

Project Designer
jared@westofwest.com

TA.gif

Tom Adamson

Project Designer
tom@westofwest.com

BM.jpg

Brittany Menear

Studio Operations Manager
brittany@westofwest.com

JE.gif

Jen Endozo

Project Designer
jen@westofwest.com

 
MA.jpg

Margit Applegate

Architectural Intern
margit@westofwest.com